India Clinches Six-Wicket Victory Over Afghanistan in Thrilling First T20I


Mohali, India: Team India kicked off their three-match T20I series against Afghanistan with a thrilling six-wicket win at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali on Thursday.

Afghanistan Set Competitive Target:

Put in to bat first, Afghanistan put on a respectable 158/5 on the board. Ibrahim Zadran (48) and Najibullah Zadran (46) anchored the innings with a crucial 68-run partnership, providing much-needed momentum in the middle overs. Karim Janat (22) and Mohammad Nabi (15*) added valuable contributions in the final overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2/23), Mukesh Kumar (2/33), and Yuzvendra Chahal (1/20) were the pick of the bowlers for India.

Early Setbacks and Shivam Dube’s Heroics:

India’s chase started with a jolt as captain Rohit Sharma was unfortunately run out for 0 after a misunderstanding with opening partner Shubman Gill. Ishan Kishan also fell cheaply, putting early pressure on the middle order. However, Shivam Dube stepped up to the occasion, playing a magnificent unbeaten knock of 60 off 40 balls. Dube found valuable partnerships with Jitesh Sharma (31) and Tilak Verma (26) to steady the chase. Rinku Singh (16*) remained unbeaten at the other end as India reached the target in 17.3 overs.

Player of the Match:

For his match-winning knock, Shivam Dube was deservingly awarded the Player of the Match trophy. His innings, filled with powerful boundaries and smart running between the wickets, showcased his growing confidence and ability to handle pressure situations.

Series Outlook:

With this win, India takes a 1-0 lead in the three-match series. The second game is scheduled for Sunday, January 14th, at Holkar Stadium in Indore, where Afghanistan will look to bounce back and level the series.

Key Points:

  • Afghanistan: 158/5 in 20 overs (Ibrahim Zadran 48, Najibullah Zadran 46)
  • India: 159/4 in 17.3 overs (Shivam Dube 60*, Tilak Verma 26)

India’s next T20I against Afghanistan will be played on Sunday, January 14th, at Holkar Stadium in Indore. Stay tuned for further updates!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.