Indian Women Storm Past Australia with 9-Wicket Thrashing, Seize Series Lead


Navi Mumbai, January 5, 2024: The Indian Women’s cricket team unleashed a formidable performance today, crushing the Australian side by a resounding nine wickets in the first T20I at the D.Y. Patil Stadium. This victory propels India to a crucial 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

Batting first, Australia’s innings struggled to gain momentum. Openers Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney faltered against the disciplined Indian bowling attack, with Titas Sadhu claiming three early wickets. Meg Lanning, the Australian captain, tried to steady the innings with a determined 49, but the middle order’s collapse restricted Australia to a modest 141/9 in their 20 overs.

In response, the Indian openers, Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Verma, displayed a masterclass in batting. The duo forged a brilliant 137-run partnership, dismantling the Australian bowling attack with ease. Mandhana was in a league of her own, hammering a spectacular 54 off 36 balls, including six boundaries and a six. Verma ably supported her, scoring a fluent 64 before being dismissed.

With a solid foundation set by the openers, Jemimah Rodrigues and Harmanpreet Kaur guided India to a comfortable victory, reaching the target in just 17.4 overs. Rodrigues remained unbeaten on 19, while Kaur added a quick 14.

The Indian bowling unit shone brightly in the first innings, with Titas Sadhu claiming an impressive 4-17. Deepti Sharma and Radha Yadav also contributed with a wicket apiece, ensuring Australia’s innings never took flight.

This commanding victory marks a major milestone for Indian women’s cricket, showcasing their growing prowess and ability to challenge the world’s best. The Australians, who entered the series as favorites, will need to reassess their strategies if they intend to level the series in the upcoming matches.

Match Summary:

  • Australia Women: 141/9 (20 overs) (Lanning 49, Mooney 19; Sadhu 4-17, Sharma 1-23, Yadav 1-26)
  • India Women: 145/1 (17.4 overs) (Mandhana 54, Verma 64; Brown 1-28)

Result: India Women won by 9 wickets

Player of the Match: Smriti Mandhana

Series Standings: India Women 1-0 Australia Women

The second T20I between India and Australia is scheduled for January 7th at the same venue. Stay tuned for more thrilling cricket action!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.